In My Eyes

In my eyes
     prism blue waters
     race by
     as I begin my journey
Purple mountains
     with crystal clear streams
     shooting fountains
     of green toward the sky
Beige dunes
     hot and sultry
     waiting for the moon
     to cool the desert sands
Yellow rows
     of corn and wheat
     bending as the wind blows
     yet never breaking
Red clay
     dry and dusty
     drifting towards the eastern bay
     to muddy the waters
In my eyes
     prism blue waters
     race by
     as I end my journey

Melissa Sue Barnett

January, 1987

Leave a Reply

